Feed on
Posts
Comments

1 Million Dollars Reg. FeeI guess you know .TV has varied pricing structure.
Verisign can charge whatever it feel like for registration fee for .TV domain names. Some of top .TV domain names are being charged thousands of dollars per year for renewal fees.

George KirikosTwo years ago, ICANN and Verisign tried that once already two years ago. However, domainers rose up together against it and stopped it from happening. This was possible because of “George Kirikos“, President of Leap of Faith Financial Services Inc., who found sneaky words in the proposed .biz/.info/.org contracts and blowed the whistle in time.

Now, it’s about to happen again! And guess who found this SNEAKY practice of ICANN and Verisign? Yes, It’s “George Kirikos” again.

Just like before, ICANN is trying to sneak in variable pricing structure!
George Kirikos first posted about this matter at CircleID on Oct. 24th, 2008.

ICANN opened public comment forum for this on Oct. 24th, 2008 and it will close on Dec. 8th, 2008.

I firmly believe such matter MUST be known to every domain registrant, perhaps thru all domain registrar. I didn’t know this until now. So, they are trying to pass this thing without trying to let us know.

So, if you don’t want to see your domain renewal prices jumping to thousands of dollars per year, go post your thought!!!

Don’t let it happen!

To post Full Draft comments, send email to: gtld-guide@icann.org
Existing Comments: http://forum.icann.org/lists/gtld-guide/

To post Module 5 comments, send email to: gtld-transition@icann.org
Existing Comments: http://forum.icann.org/lists/gtld-transition/ 

You can see more about GREEDY ICANN and Verisign at DNForum and DomainState

BikeHelmets.com sold for $50,200 at NameJet on Nov. 10th
Lately, some highend domain auction winner don’t pay up :(
However, this time, seller will get the money as I know this seller personally and also know buyer who is much respected domainer within domain industry.

This domain name used to be owned by DomainHighway.
Cyber2Media (Daniel) bought it from DomainHighway and listed for sale at NameJet.
Rumor is that MrsJello is the one who bought BikeHelmets.com Continue Reading »

Phishing attempt guised as Enom email.Another Phishing attempt.
This time, it’s trying to look as if it’s coming from Enom using two domain names.
ssl74.biz
ssl78.biz
Both are registered at Network Solutions today.

========== Header info ==========

Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary=”—-=_NextPart_000_0007_01C93BA3.F1404980″
Date: Fri, 31 Oct 2008 21:59:27 +0200 [03:59:27 PM EDT]
Delivery-date: Fri, 31 Oct 2008 15:59:26 -0400
Envelope-to: my email address here
From: eNom Team
MIME-Version: 1.0
Message-ID: <01c93ba3$f1404980$1484b14e@tenisqt4life>
Received:
from [78.177.132.20] by my email host here with esmtp (Exim 4.69) (envelope-from ) id 1Kw09T-0004iz-S4 for my email address here; Fri, 31 Oct 2008 15:59:26 -0400
from [78.177.132.20] by maplenet.net.mail1.psmtp.com; Fri, 31 Oct 2008 21:59:27 +0200
Return-path:
Subject: Attention: Inaccurate whois information.
To: my email address here
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2900.2869
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2900.2869
X-Priority: 3
Part(s): Download All Attachments (in .zip file)

========== Body part below ==========

 

Continue Reading »

PhishingPhishing attempt is going around disguised as if email is coming from NetworkSolutions.
Do NOT click any links in this email.

Email said…
1. Log in to Account Manager at: http://www.networksolutions.com

If you set your email client to just read text email, not html email, it will read…
1. Log in to Account Manager at: http://www.networksolutions.com.sys56biz.

If you right click the link and choose “copy link address” and paste it into notepad, it will read…
http://www.networksolutions.com.sys78.biz/

sys78.biz is registered today at some chinese registrar.

I had another phishing attempt email yesterday as well.
Only difference is it used another domain name registered at same registrar.

Anyway, here is full phishing attempt email below. Do NOT click any link. Continue Reading »

If you ever get email with following message, do NOT reply.
Just delete it. If you reply, It will make matters worse.
Add worldswidedomainname.com into spam filter.

I started getting spams on Oct. 28th.
Here is first one.

Date: Tue, 28 Oct 2008 01:16:39 -0400 [10/28/2008 01:16:39 AM EDT]
From: Domain Name Support
To: info@worldswidedomainname.com
Subject: Notice Regarding Your DOMAIN NAME

Message part below (I removed actual link).
===========================================
*****************************************
Important Notice Regarding Your Domain Name(s)
*****************************************
Dear Webmaster, Continue Reading »

IDN sedo auction followup

Followup for the “Duba¡.com sold for $1,650?“.

I just saw another similar, IDN, auction at sedo.

One was selling Duba¡.com, this one selling ¡TALY.COM

But, this look little different. I have no idea who put little difference there.
Is it sedo or seller who put that little “idn” mark?
Who ever did it, that’s good thing :-) Continue Reading »

Dubai.com?On Sedo.com, Oct., 19th, Duba¡.com sold for $1,650.00 Is it real?

Did winner of the auction got deal of the century?

Hardly!!!

Duba¡.com is NOT what it appear to be. Continue Reading »

Kentucky Circuit Court Judge Thomas D. Wingate dismissed all arguments brought by the domains’ legal counsel in an attempt to have the seizure nullified. All affected domains, 141, have 30 days to implement blocking all traffics from Kentucky.

For now, these domains are just gambling domains, but, this case may as well be used for any other domain cases.

China is well known to block many sites.
With this case, China can order domains to block traffics from China.

I can see 141 domain owners going all the way to federal court with this one.

On Tuesday, Oct. 7th, 2008, Tons of lawyers gathered at Franklin Circuit Courtroom. So much so, Honorable Judge Thomas Wingate said “”I’ve never seen so many lawyers together in one court room.” jokingly.

Governor Steve Beshear said “Illegal Internet gambling poses a unique threat to our Commonwealth,” “For individuals - particularly our youth - it is tantamount to a virtual home invasion. For some of our vital and most venerable legitimate enterprises, it undermines their exemplary regulatory compliance and siphons away their constituents.”

I don’t gamble and I don’t think I own any poker or online gambling domain. But, it sound bit hypocritical statement to me. twinspires.com is online gambling site, not a small site, run by Kentucky Derby right from the commonwealth ;-)
Apple is a fruit and orange is NOT a fruit?

twinspires.com is legal and other domains are illegal?
twinspires.com has nothing to do with “virtual home invasion” and other domains do?

I posted two other articles about this case at other blog of mine.
1. Will online gambling site be gone for good? Hardly!
2. Controversial followup:Kentucky after gambling domain names

4A.com sold for $13,000 at Sedo.
YB.com could not meet reserve price.
It got up to $125,000 and that wasn’t high enough.
I am guessing reserve could be around $200,000?

JazzMusic.com sold for $35,500
Great deal for buyer!

I have following domains for sale.
ClassicWeek.com
GospelClassic.com
SilverClassics.com

For all inquiries…

Older Posts »